Sierra Club Lone Star Chapter Announces 2014 Executive Committee


Margot Clarke will lead the Lone Star Chapter’s Executive Committee in 2014.

In January, the Sierra Club Lone Star Chapter’s Executive Committee elected a new board to govern the organization in 2014.  Most notably, Margot Clarke of Austin, formerly the Vice-Chair of the committee, was appointed Chair of the Lone Star Chapter as its Chair.

Outgoing Chair, Hal Suter from the Coastal Bend Group (Corpus Christi, TX), will continue to serve on the Executive Committee as its International & Labor Relations Chair, as well as the Chair of Special Projects.  As such, he will continue to represent the chapter in its ongoing collaboration with labor organizations through the BlueGreen Alliance.  Dewayne Quertermous from the Ft. Worth Group is the new Vice-Chair.

Two members joined the Executive Committee in 2014.  Allison Sliva from Bay City was elected as an at-large member and the Austin Group appointed Bruce Melton as their representative, replacing Sandra Grimes, who chose to step down.  Evelyn Merz from the Houston Group and Andy Balinsky with the Austin Group were also re-elected to three-year terms by the Lone Star Chapter’s members.

Clarke has worked for Planned Parenthood of Austin, the League of Conservation Voters Education Fund, and the Sierra Club Lone Star Chapter.  She ran for Austin City Council in 2003 and 2005.  In addition to her work with Sierra Club’s Executive Committee, she serves on the Citizens’ Advisory Committee for the City of Austin’s Water Conservation Task Force.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s